Coming Soon…

Firstly, I’d like to say a big thank you for all of the awesome comments and feedback that I’ve received in the last few days.  It’s a real credit to the Magic community that you guys are so engaged and passionate about the development of a tool like this.  All I can say is that I will do my very best to prioritise and build the things that you guys want the most.  Sometimes I’ll put three releases out in a week, sometimes one in a month, but I will always be thinking about and working on making Cube Tutor as awesome as possible! 🙂

With that in mind I just wanted to take some time to talk about some of the most frequently requested features that I will be implementing soon.

Card Images – As someone who takes pride in making my cube as unique as possible, I really understand that personalisation is a key part to the cubing hobby.  Having to live with an M12 Birds of Paradise image for your cube is just not on!  Unfortunately, Gatherer makes it very difficult to reliably find images for all card versions.  Promos are particularly difficult.  I’m currently looking for an alternative source of card images that will tolerate thousands of additional requests per hour coming from users of Cube Tutor so watch this space!

A lot of people have noticed that my cube contains custom card images (altered, signed cards etc) and are asking when this feature will become available to everyone.  It’s something I’m thinking about a lot but I need to work out how to elegantly provide upload functionality for a large number of images, and also how to prevent users from hammering my bandwidth by uploading large files.  Both of these problems are very solvable and I will roll this feature out to everyone soon.

Drafting Pack Size – Some people like to draft 9, 10, 14 or 15 cards in their packs or even draft with less or more than 8 people.  Given how many people have asked for it, I will definitely build this in to Cube Tutor.  However, I do want to make sure that drafting is as accessible as possible.  This means not having to fill in a page of configuration before loading up a draft.  I’ve got an idea about how to solve this.

‘Average Cube’ Lists – I will be setting up 3 or 4 new cubes on my account, 360 Cube, 450 Cube, 540 Cube and 720 Cube maybe.  These lists will be populated by the most popular cards in all other cubes on Cube Tutor, hence creating ‘Average Cubes’.  They will create blog posts in the same way as any other cube user when changes are made to their lists.  It will also be completely automated, and the lists will be re-evaluated once per day.

Forgotten Username/Password – This is just standard functionality that comes with having a moderately large user base and I will definitely be implementing it.

Analysis – There is a lot of scope for improvement to the Analysis page.  People frequenltly talk about being able to check out the curve per Colour and or Card Type.  Following the theme of naming my releases after cards, there will be a Deep Analysis release coming soon where I will look at all of the suggestions I’ve been given for the Analysis page.

Goldfishing – A natural progression to deck building is goldfishing, i.e. drawing a sample hand and perhaps even being able to place cards on a table to see how the deck might play out.

Missing Card Versions – Following on from the point about card images, it’s very important that you should be able to reflect your EXACT cube list on Cube Tutor.  I know that many promo sets (JSS, WPN, Champs etc) are still missing from the site and will be adding these very soon.

Edit/Delete Blog Posts – It would be nice to get to a point where your blog would reflect the real changes that you make to your cube.  That means when you correct Bulk Upload errors, or make minor changes you’d have the option of not posting to your blog.  At the same time it would be great to be able to remove or edit existing blog posts.

Summary Tags – The summary tags (Peasant, Pauper, Eternal…) are calculated by Cube Tutor based on the cards in your list.  If your cube is summarised as Budget when you think it should be Peasant it’s probably because you’ve added a card that is only uncommon on MTGO (Savannah Lions) or is only arguably uncommon (Triskelion).  I’m considering allowing users to set these summary items themselves if they don’t like what Cube Tutor has figured out.

Custom Categorisation – I’ve had a few requests to add new Super Types such as ‘Spell’ or ‘Fetch Land’ so that cards appear under these sections on the View Cube page.  This will have a bit of an impact on the way that the list is sorted, so I’m currently working out the best way to imeplement it.  Either way, it is an important feature to be able to sort your cube as you like.

X-Mana Cost – Currently X defaults to 5 which throws off curve charts, and the cards position on the View List page and Visual Spoiler.  I will change this so that X doesn’t relate to a numerical value.  These cards will be excluded from CMC charts on the Analysis page and will appear at the end of their section on View List and Visual Spoiler.

I could’ve talked about the ideas that I have for hours, but hopefully this will give you enough of a taster of where things are going in the next few releases.  As ever please keep your comments and feedback coming in: http://www.cubetutor.com/contact.

Happy Cubing!

Leave a Reply

