Cube Tutor Announcement

I was looking at the history of changes to Cube Tutor recently and the first commit (piece of code) was made on the 5th November 2012.  This makes Cube Tutor a little over a year old, and what a year it’s been.  I’d like to start by thanking a few people for helping me get the site to where it is now.  In particular Kieran, Tom and Simon in the London Magic community who really motivated me to take this project from a personal whim to something much bigger by providing early feature requests.  If it hadn’t been for you guys I may not have even got as far as implementing drafting!  There are countless other real life friends whose words of support over the months have really spurred me on.  You know who you are, so thank you.

Next I’d like to thank the community on MTGSalvation.  This is where I first “launched” the site and I really appreciate the support that MTGSalvation gave me in getting off the ground.  In particular wtwlf123 who continues to contribute very regularly to the Cube Tutor discussion, and often answers questions about the site.  Thanks go out to the following people too for your continued support, apologies if I’ve missed anyone:

sylar_teh_evil, bondafong, eidolon232, ChampBlankman, Fredo, Hicham, Wildfire393, norbert88, Humpty_Dumpty, revengeanceful, Pringlesman, Norl, RiotInferno, [TJS]Dandy_Lions, tomchaps, alyu314, naturax, therestless, whydirt, haganbmj, JesterSB, dann14, Leelue, Nof, akroma44, Blind_Piper, jcircone, Altaurus321, kingneb, MrDumpkins, Raszero, BetweenWalls, Pendrell, hardb0dy, Winterlude, DerBK, Bassplaya92, Aznopium, mrbrightside, jonboyjon, sexyindiancurry, flutterguy, majikian, Kassow-Rossing, Ixoran, its0v3r9000, Tim Proctor, cuttups, colormage1, Ninja_Bob, dontsuemewizards and pkedu

Next up thanks to Jason and Kranny at the Riptide Laboratory and the whole community over there and the guys on the /r/mtgcube/ subreddit for your support.

And finally a BIG THANK YOU to everyone who has been generous enough to donate to Cube Tutor and keep the site up and running for the last few months.  You guys rock!

I am sending out lots of Thank You’s here, but this is not a victory speech.  There is still so much to do…

And so I am here today to announce that I will be taking some time out of my professional career to invest some time in Cube Tutor for a while.  My backlog of work has grown and grown over the months and it’s gotten to the point where I just need to dedicate some time to it to get things done.  Working on this site is a real passion for me and having an awesome community of people behind it who care enough to send me email upon email of feedback and feature requests really makes the whole thing worthwhile.

I am laying down a Mission Objective.  It is an acronym.  I don’t normally like acronyms as they’ve never really helped me remember anything in the past but this particular one popped into my head and it really seems to fit my development ethos.  I want to make Cube Tutor F.A.S.T.

  • Feature Rich – This means working through the massive backlog of suggestions, ideas and bugs that have accumulated over the months.
  • Accessible – Cube Tutor is not optimised for the increasing number of visitors from mobile devices so I will be looking to address this.  I also hope to finally get the site running on Internet Explorer.
  • Scalable –  It is important that as Cube Tutor continues to grow that the site can Scale with the increasing load.  We’ve had a couple of periods of unforeseen downtime recently due to an increasing number of visitors.  This isn’t acceptable so I will be working on hardening the foundation of Cube Tutor so that it can continue to grow.
  • Time.  It is important to get this delivered before 2030.  Also FAS isn’t an acronym 🙂

So that’s it.  I will continue to listen and respond to the community and prioritise work accordingly and you can expect development to really ramp up after Christmas time and into the New Year. Exciting Times!

Leave a Reply

